Music Liturgy Changes During Lent

Music Ministry, Original Music I had a question on my review of Matt Maher's Mass of Communion for a Lenten version of his Alleuluia.  In the video I offer a suggestion substituting "Praise to you Lord Jesus Christ, King of endless glory."  If you're using this particular mass setting, it's okay if you'd like to mix in another gospel acclamation.  Ed Bolduc's Mass of St. Ann has a Lenten Gospel Acclamation available. In my Mass of Praise, I arranged a Kyrie as well as a Lenten Gospel Acclamation.  It's common during this season to sing the Kyrie (Lord Have Mercy) in place of a Glory.  We refrain from singing "alleluia" until Easter.  It's a great idea to change the instrumentation of your group during Lent.  Try more of an acoustic set up with…
Read More

New Translation – Mass of Praise by Ray Martin

Music Ministry, Music Reviews, Original Music
Download Audio and Sheet Music                       Download Sheet Music Only [mp3-jplayer list="n" tracks="Glory to God@01-Glory-to-God.mp3, Alleluia@02-Alleluia.mp3, Holy Holy Holy@03-Holy-Holy-Holy.mp3, Memorial Acclamaition@Memorial-Acclamation-Rev.mp3, Amen@05-Amen.mp3, Lamb of God@06-Lamb-of-God.mp3, Kyrie Eleison@Kyrie-Eleison-Mixdown.mp3, Lenten Gospel Acclamation@Lenten-Gospel-Acclamation-Mixdown.mp3"] I talked about the new English translation of the Catholic prayers and mass music in my review of Matt Maher's Mass of Communion.  This is my setting of the new mass parts with the revised text for a Praise and Worship band.  I'll run through a few brief notes about the different movements.  Overall, I tried to avoid getting above a D in the treble clef because that gets pretty high for the congregation.  I wanted there to be a lot of continuity between the different parts and so you'll see and…
Read More

Review- Matt Maher’s Mass of Communion

Music Reviews
In the fall of 2011 the Catholic Church implemented a new English translation of the prayers that are spoken and sung during the mass to more accurately match the traditional Latin.  That has forced composers to write or rearrange the service music we refer to as mass parts.  Matt Maher has been a long time Lifeteen worship leader from Mesa, AZ.  He and Ike Ndolo released their new Mass of Communion with the new translation and the band I participate in here in KC recently started using this setting and have been teaching it to our congregation. This is my review from the perspective of both a musician who has played it as well as a composer who has taken on the challenge of setting this revised text. I'm going…
Read More